Germany Opens Borders for Vaccinated Travelers

The German government has decided to permit entry for travelers from third countries who have been vaccinated with one of the Coronavirus vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA).

  • Fully vaccinated travelers from certain non-EU countries can now enter Germany without quarantine restrictions

  • Travelers from approved countries must also show a negative COVID test prior to departure

  • Borders are effectively closed to countries considered to be virus variant areas of concern – including some key sending markets for German institutions

“This is an excellent outcome which is set to benefit many companies across a range of engineering-intensive sectors in Australia."

As of 25 June 2021, Germany’s borders are once again open to travelers from specific countries outside the EU – including the United States, Australia, Japan, and South Korea – as long as travelers:

  • Have been fully vaccinated at least 14 days before entering with a vaccine approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA). The currently accepted vaccines are Pfizer, Moderna, AstraZeneca, and Janssen.

  • Produce a negative COVID test result prior to departure if flying into the country.

Proof of vaccination should be “an EU COVID vaccination certificate or a comparable certificate issued by the travellers’ country of residence, either in German, English, French, Italian, or Spanish.

The certificate must contain the following information:

  • Surname, first name and date of birth of the certificate holder

  • Date of vaccination and number of jabs

  • The manufacturer of the vaccine and the name of the vaccine

  • Name and address of the person/institution responsible for carrying out the vaccination

Federal Government has decided to keep in place the entry ban for arrivals from virus variant areas, which the UK currently is.

As of June 18, the following counties and regions are placed in the list of virus variant areas:

  • Botswana

  • Brazil

  • Eswatini

  • India

  • Lesotho

  • Malawi

  • Mozambique

  • Nepal

  • Zambia

  • Zimbabwe

  • South Africa

  • Uruguay

  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland of the Isle of Man as well as all Channel Islands and all British Overseas Territories

Entry from China is also restricted due to the reciprocity measure currently in place between this country and the EU.

On Monday this week, SchengenVisaInfo.com reported that the German authorities are planning to lift its travel warning for most third countries previously imposed due to the COVID-19 pandemic situation, in a bid to bring back normality in the country as the number of citizens who have undergone the COVID-19 vaccination process is continuously increasing.

Sources: https://www.schengenvisainfo.com/news/germany-opens-borders-for-vaccinated-third-country-travellers-from-june-25-but-not-for-brits/


2 views0 comments